MABA | Malaysia Basketball Association All,MPLD MPL-D 2018 Champions: PRG Warriors

MPL-D 2018 Champions: PRG Warriors

PRG Warriors were crowned the champions of the first ever Malaysia Pro League (MPL) Development League 2018, defeating KL Dragons in the Playoff Finals on 15th July; 70-55.

Finishing in 4th seed of the MPL-D Regular Season, the Warriors made a clutch win over first seed NS Matrix in the semi-finals 68-65 on Saturday (14th July) which then brought them to the finals where they faced the Dragons.

The Warriors initially lost the first quarter to the Dragons but managed to take the lead by force in the final moments of the second quarter when John Wong scored 5 points for his team by 2 field goals and 1 free-throw. (33-28)

It was not an easy task for the Warriors as they faced many challenges to secure the lead, but ultimately, they took advantage of Dragons’ loose possession of the ball (23 turnovers throughout the game) and finished strong at the end of every quarter.

With Dragons many attempts at prolonging the game at the very end, the Warriors were able to convert their 6-point lead start in the final quarter to a whopping 15-point victory.

Top Scorers

PRG Warriors

John Wong Khai Chiek                 26 points, 10 rebounds, 2 assists

Tan Wen Gio                                   19 points, 6 rebounds

Liew Kar Choon                             9 points, 5 rebounds

Ong Wei Yong                                 6 points, 6 rebounds, 7 assists

KL Dragons

Chin Cheng Wah                            17 points, 2 rebounds, 2 assists

Chiang Wei Er                                 16 points, 5 rebounds, 1 assist

John Ng Yeo Sheng                        7 points, 9 rebounds, 2 assists

*Full box score can be found here



Leave a Reply